One Lovely Blog Award

One Lovely Blog Tree

I’d like to start out this Thanksgiving week by giving thanks to fellow blogger Mindyminix for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award.  This is such an honor, Mindy, and I greatly appreciate your generosity.

Mindy, I should add, is the pride of Missouri, the “Show Me State” and indeed, she has shown us all how this blogging thing is done!  While the murder of Mike Brown by police and the resulting unrest in Ferguson over the summer has largely passed from the public consciousness, I would encourage you, dear readers, to head over to Mindy’s blog and learn about the continued effects of that disaster on Missourians. A tragedy of this caliber is a bit like a death in the family:  After a while, the visitors and the casseroles stop coming and the immediate family is left to suffer alone in its grief while the rest of the world forgets about what happened.

The rules for accepting the One Lovely Blog Award are as follows:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Tell us seven things about yourself.
  3. Post a One Lovely Blog badge in the post or on your blog.
  4. Nominate seven other bloggers you admire.

Seven things about myself:

  1. I was four years old when I wrote my first short story. I would hear adults engage in talk about World War II and watched lots of westerns on TV with my grandpa, so it should come as no surprise that I titled it “Indian Ranger War II.”
  2. My wife and I live in the parsonage of a church. My mother-in-law is the minister.
  3. My wife and I are both iced tea fanatics. We each go through about a gallon per day. I can’t drink mine without lemon juice.
  4. I miss the ocean. Why can’t there be any good jobs in Pismo or Narragansett?
  5. My wife and I have 19 nieces and nephews between us, plus a rapidly mounting number of grands. There are usually one or two of them around here somewhere. They keep us young.
  6. I am a certified Scrabble fanatic. I used to play in highly competitive regional tournaments, but I don’t anymore, primarily due to a lack of money. I have played in an email Scrabble league continuously for well over a decade.  (Want to join?  Ask me how!)  Now, of course, we have cell phones, so I play Words With… uh, well, Strangers.
  7. I’ve been to London. I’ve also been to France. No, you can’t see my underpants.

Blog nominations:

And now, without further ado, I hereby nominate the following delightful blogs for the One Lovely Blog Award (says he, doing a very poor impression of Julie Andrews singing “these are a few of my favorite blogs”):

  1. rachelmankowitz – The ongoing saga of the antics and adventures of rescue dogs Cricket and Butterfly. Although I have never been a dog person, Rachel has demonstrated to me that our canine friends can teach us more than a few lessons about life and love.
  2. Too Many Spiders – I’m so tempted to go wisecracking about the itsy bitsy spider or along came a spider and sat down beside her (I have a two year old grandniece, so sue me), but I’ll just say that Ms. Spider generously shares her wealth of wisdom with us, whether it’s about television or chess or history or religion or life on Staten Island. Oh, and she just recently gave birth to her eighth child. Among the best reads online, in my humble opinion.
  3. Movin’ It With Michelle – Retired from the Army and working in the health professions, Michelle has two daughters, runs marathons and nurtures a deep passion for cooking. When she posts photos of her amazing culinary creations, you will want to lick the screen.
  4. Brooklyn Doodle – Although this blogger hasn’t published many posts lately, I look forward to her next installment. It’s all about a bike ride, a café, a few extra napkins and pulling out a marker for some impromptu drawing. This art teacher creates beautiful artwork on paper napkins.  Well worth checking out.
  5. Drinking Tips for Teens – This Canadian has a sharp wit and a unique perspective on the everyday. And maybe I’m just a teensy bit envious that the man is on National Public Radio.
  6. Troubleface Mom – Another blogger who doesn’t post nearly enough. Perhaps you can leave some comments on her blog to encourage her to write more regularly. I enjoy her applications of her faith to daily life as well as the chronicles of her journey with an autistic son.
  7. Raising 5 Kids with Disabilities and Remaining Sane Blog – When a blogger has more than 11,000 followers, it’s hard not to sit up and notice. Raising children with a diverse spectrum of disabilities places one precisely at the intersection of the tragic and the comic. Check out her blog and see for yourself.

Now we’re off to a short, three-day workweek preceding the Thanksgiving holiday.  I hope everyone is looking forward to food and family as much as I am.  And here’s a special shout out to my fellow vegans.  This can be a tough holiday spent with our meat-eating brethren.  Don’t forget to post up your stories!

NaBloPoMo 2014 Logo

NaNoPoblano

8 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. I just bought my daughter her very first Scrabble game (kid version, which just means more enticing colors) for Christmas! I am trying my best to be patient and wait, but I’m pretty excited about getting to play Scrabble again! (My husband isn’t interested)

    Thank you for your kind words. I hope Thanksgiving (tofu turkey?) is a good day for you and yours!

    • Wow, Mindy, I sure hope your daughter learns to love Scrabble! Not only is it great for building vocabulary and spelling skills, but figuring out board placement involves spatial relations and significant mathematical skill. Not to matching all that practice in adding up the scores! Have fun, you two.

      As for Thanksgiving, I am the black sheep vegan in a family of carnivores. I will probably just bring over a container of veggies or a sandwich and enjoy the visiting.

Leave a Reply

