Blog Hop

To the person who recently left a comment asking me to participate in a blog hop:

I am not really sure what a blog hop is.  I’ve been a fan of the Danny and the Juniors tune “At the Hop” for decades now, but I get the general impression that this has nothing to do with a high school dance.  My little grandniece likes to prance through the living room yelling “Hop, hop, hop!”  Just watching this from the couch exhausts me, but again, I have a feeling that this blog hop thing has nothing to do with physical fitness.

I am guessing that this blog hop is some sort of connect-the-dots event in which participants “hop” from one specified URL to the next.  I don’t know whether the hoppers visiting my blog are supposed to read my latest post or leave a comment or spray paint “Kilroy was here” on my About page.

You did ask whether I am “really” located in California (no, actually I’ve been pulling your leg all this time, I’m really in the Aleutian Islands), so I suppose this must be a critical factor.  Perhaps, with a nod to Oscar Wilde, I should have titled this post “The Importance of Being Californian.”  Are you attempting a tour of the fifty states?  If so, I should think that finding a California blog would not be that difficult.  Rhode Island or North Dakota, maybe, but not California.

Then again, you did mention that the last two bloggers whom you queried failed to respond.  This would tend to indicate that it is not as easy as one might think to secure a willing Californian participant.  Of course, many bloggers do not indicate their physical locations for safety or privacy reasons, so it could be difficult to ascertain whether your favorite blogger is actually from California or not.  I am guessing that the title of my blog was a dead giveaway.

I could not help but notice that you were reduced to pleading, hopefully not upon your knees.  “Save us,” you piteously mewed.  Such shameless begging makes me feel particularly bad to be the blogger who causes you to “strike out,” the third California blogger to give you the cold shoulder by failing to respond.

Please don’t think me ungrateful.  I truly appreciate each and every one of my readers and I am deeply honored that you take time out of your busy week to peruse the drivel that I regularly dish out in this space.  I do my best to return the favor by reading as many of your blogs as I am able to fit into my equally busy week.  I try to help anyone who asks, particularly new bloggers who need a boost in comments or request advice on what techniques I have found to work and what has fallen flat.  I believe in giving folks a hand up and I believe in doing what I can to improve this blogosphere that we inhabit.

However, I do ask that you have pity on me.  We are right in the middle of NaBloPoMo, for heaven’s sake.  I am doing my best to keep my commitment to post daily during this annual event, even though I work a full-time job, spend two hours per day commuting and attempt to participate in a full life with the many members of our extended family who live nearby.  Although I was able to compose a few posts in advance, I prefer to write with an immediacy that is only available by describing what is on my mind at any given moment.  I do take time to write a few longer posts on the weekends, but during the week I have to catch as catch can, writing during my lunch breaks, on my phone in the car and even in the middle of the night when I suddenly wake up with an inspiration.  This is quite a change for one who is accustomed to posting once weekly, adding notes from day to day or sitting down of a Saturday and writing the entire post from beginning to end in a single session.

So please don’t think that I am a latter day Scrooge, a Grinch with a heart two sizes too small who serves up double decker sauerkraut and toadstool sandwiches with arsenic sauce.  It’s just that your event has fallen victim to bad timing.  By all means, ask me again after NaBloPoMo.

At that time, it will be my pleasure to put on a smile, click on your link, and assist you with your blog hop.

Whatever that is.

NaBloPoMo 2014 Logo

NaNoPoblano

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

