Oregon

Mount Shasta

I always have a hard time sleeping the night before a job interview.  This is particularly true when I am in a motel room rather than in my own bed, and even more so when the motel bed is hard as a rock.  I ended up watching a Weather Channel documentary on the solar system and another about rain until the wee hours.

In the morning, I made the mistake of bending over to put on my socks.  My back was having none of it.  Not after a night stretched out on a concrete rack.

I began my day on a positive note by checking my email and finding three rejection notices from employers awaiting my perusal.  One job was in the Midwest, one in the Northwest, and one here in California.

Today’s interview was conducted by a panel of four supervisors and managers.  Each candidate interviewed was asked the same eight questions so that the panel could compare and rate each person’s responses.  Pretty standard stuff for management positions.

At the end of the interview, someone on the panel always allows the candidate to ask any questions that he or she may have.  As usual, I had a few questions about the business.  As my questions were answered, it quickly became apparent that the position for which I was being interviewed was nothing like the job description advertised online.  I was convinced that going to the expense of this trip was worthwhile for a solid management position.  But it turns out that the employer is just looking for a first-line supervisor.  This is at least the third time that I have run into this problem.  Either employers are not being truthful in their advertising or I need to go back to school and bone up on my reading comprehension skills.

I doubt that I will be offered this position, but I will face a real dilemma if I am.  Is it worthwhile to relocate 250 miles away to take a demotion and a $20,000 pay cut from my previous position?  My initial reaction is that anything is better than churning out more and more job applications and standing on food lines.  But moving away from family to take a difficult job that I won’t enjoy for not nearly enough money doesn’t exactly bring a smile to my face.  At this point, however, I have no right to be picky.  I know I’ll have to suck it up and do whatever is necessary to support myself and my wife.

On the bright side, we enjoyed the cooler weather in Oregon.  As this particular location was up in the mountains, the temperature was about thirty degrees lower than it has been here in northern California.  It’s been many years since I lived in a place that has snowy winters, but I believe that change is a good thing.

And although the long drive up into the mountains was terribly boring, at least we enjoyed a lovely view of Mount Shasta on the way home.

This evening, I received an email from yet another employer regarding a managerial position that I had applied for online several months ago.  I’d like to share the majority of this email with my faithful readers:

Congratulations!  You have passed the test/competitive evaluation of your qualifications for DISTRICT MANAGER.

You have been placed in Group 3.  Your name will remain on the eligible list for one (1) year unless it is removed in accordance with our personnel rules.

Group 1 (95-100%)
Group 2 (90-94%)
Group 3 (85-89%)
Group 4 (80-84%)
Group 5 (75-79%)
Group 6 (70-74%)

We thank you again for your time and interest in our employment opportunities.

I may need your help in deciphering this memo, particularly since it appears from information gleaned at my interviews that my understanding of employer notices bears no resemblance to the facts of the situation.

It seems to me that I scored a grade of B on the online exam, meaning that two other groups of candidates get first dibs on this job.  Should all the candidates in the A+ group and the A group turn down job offers, I would then have the privilege of competing for the job with my fellow B-listers.  Should a year go by without the employer reaching us down on the B list, my name would fall off said list and I would have to start the process all over again.

Am I close?  Or do I have it all wrong?  It’s okay, you can show me the error of my ways.  I can take it.

Moving to Oregon for a demotion and a pay cut is starting to look better and better.

 

2 thoughts on “Oregon

  1. Pingback: Three Interviews | A Map of California

Leave a Reply

