Daily Prompt: New England Dreamin’

apples pumpkins'

Yesterday, the WordPress Daily Prompt encouraged bloggers to describe the strangest place they have ever found themselves posting to their blogs.

As a creature of habit, I prefer writing my blog posts from the comfort of the living room sofa, laptop dangling precariously off the TV tray on which it is balanced.  However, due to our travels up and down the state of California, I have composed numerous posts from our laptops in motel rooms.

What I find particularly challenging is writing blog posts on my iPhone.  I have done so on several occasions, late at night at Motel 6 in Buttonwillow, Kern County.  Now, Motel 6 generally (but not always) charges for wi-fi, so we typically skip the laptop and make due with our phones.  My fat fingers dance across the tiny keyboard display, stopping every third or fourth word to correct an error.  The backspace key is my best friend.  Even so, when I get back to a computer I usually notice more than one typo that makes me want to scream.  And I won’t dwell on the times I have mysteriously lost an iPhone post in progress, nor will I refer to some of the words that have come out of my mouth on such occasions.

Far more interesting than the mundane locales from which I have blogged are the places from which I would like to blog someday.  I am not engaging in fantasies about exotic destinations here.  In fact, I am reminiscing about places that I enjoyed on the other side of the country in the days before the Internet.

It’s October, and inevitably my thoughts return to the riotous red and yellow leaves that set the trees afire in New England and upstate New York.  I am just learning to use Twitter, and if I did not have time for a complete blog post, I imagine I would tweet something like this:

JUMPING IN A PILE OF LEAVES INSTEAD OF RAKING.  WHEEEE!!   #foliage

It is apple season, and right now I am munching on a Gala, one of California’s finest.  And while I enjoy the wonderful Fujis, Pink Ladies and Galas out here, it’s not the same as picking out a bushel of Macintosh, Delicious, Cortland or Rome Beauty apples from Dressel Farms on Route 208 in New Paltz, New York.  If I were there, I’d blog about the giant pumpkins out front, the Indian corn grown on site and, if the cider press is operating, the season’s first sweet taste of liquid heaven.  After I got home, I’d be sure to mention the wonderful scent throughout the house when Mom was stirring a pot of applesauce on the stove and had a pie in the oven.

DRESSEL FARMS IN OCT IS THE APPLE OF MY EYE.  YUMMY!!  #hudsonvalleyautumn

I’d ooh and aah at the bucks, does and fawns that walk out of the thickets and stand wide-eyed along the grassy edges of the Palisades Interstate Parkway.  Then I’d blog my outrage when every other car heading south from Bear Mountain Circle has a dead deer tied to its roof.

CARS BEARING CARCASSES MAKE ME WANNA BARF   #huntersgohome

Along with everyone else, I’d gripe about the leaf-peeping tourists slowing down traffic with their gawking.  Of course I’d forget to mention all the money that they are pumping into the local economy and how many businesses couldn’t survive without them.

TOO MANY TOURISTS!  BLASTED LEAF PEEPERS   #lookyloos

I’d definitely blog from Old Sturbridge Village in Massachusetts, describing the candle dippers, the blacksmiths, the printers and the butter-churning maids.  My post would probably make fun of the 18th century costumes and the little kids running amok with ice cream sticky hands.  And I’d be sure to post a photo of the cows and turkeys.

STURBRIDGE IS THE ESSENCE OF NEW ENGLAND BUT THEY HAD TO WORK TOO HARD BACK THEN AND THEY HAD NO WIFI   #touristtrap

I would do my best to blog from the Emily Dickinson House in Amherst, Fitzwilly’s restaurant in Northampton, the covered bridge over the Ashuelot River in Swanzey, New Hampshire and the shops in downtown Brattleboro, Vermont.  And just for old time’s sake, I’d have to finish up my time travels by writing a funny post about a round of Glowgolf at Holyoke Mall.

THE DAYS ARE COOL, THE NIGHTS ARE COLD, I NEED TO VISIT NEW ENGLAND IN AUTUMN AGAIN BEFORE I GET TOO OLD.    #nostalgia

 

Follow me on Twitter:  @unclearon

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: New England Dreamin’

    • Oh, you should, Rob! There is no time like autumn to visit New England. The humidity of summer is gone and the snow has not yet arrived. So many people fly into Boston, but much better is to fly into Bradley Airport (Hartford/Springfield), then rent a car and drive north on I-91 through the heart of central New England. This will put you close to all the places I mentioned other than Dressel’s. If you go, be sure to tell us all about it!

  1. Pingback: The 10 Days of Zappos | A Map of California

Leave a Reply

